Thread: help need with wide angle or ultra wide angle lens

Tom75 is offline Welcome Me!

Default help need with wide angle or ultra wide angle lens

Hi,

as mentioned in my introduction I am relatively new to DSLR photography but I am continuously improving.

I have used so far with my EOS 600D only a 18-270mm lens but now I have sees how nice it is to have a wide angle or ultra wide angle zoom lens for outdoor / fishing photography and therefore I am planning to buy one.

I am aware that my camera does not have a full frame sensor however I might anyway buy a full frame body after some time and therefore I definitely want a lens that is suitable for full frame.

I would like the lens to be as wide as possible however not so wide that I get a lot of distortion. Therefore my question what should I go for?

I know that for example a Canon EF 17-40mm F4.0L USM is considered very wide ..... however this is in combination with a full frame camera. With my current 600D it will be 27-64mm if I under stand it correctly (x1.6)?
    Therefore I'm afraid it might not be wide enough for wide landscapes and outdoor shots I have in mind.

Should I therefore rather consider something like a Sigma 12-24mm F4.5-5.6 DG HSM II or will this give already a lot of distortion at 12mm? Since such a lens will be with my current body about 19-38mm I somehow think something like this would be better.
    Of course it would also be interesting how the quality is between these two examples.

I am really grateful for any advice, help or suggestions.

Thanks and regards,
    Tom

brucep is offline Contributor photozoholic